How to write an http request to get the final URL of a redirected one

Hello activepiecers,

I am new to writing HTTP request and not a coder from education so apologize if my question seems a little noobie.

I want to write an HTTP request that would take the final URL of redirected URL from google news but I am not sure how to write it.

Here is a screenshot of what I have tried but the code seems to be in python and not working on the Json body.
Looking a bit on th internet th code in python that could extract the final URL should be : response = requests.get(url, allow_redirects=True) but I am not sure how to write it in the Http request module.

If anyone has more knowledge on me on the topic I would gladly learn from him.

@Elgregy if you’re just doing a HTTP GET on that URL, you don’t need to pass anything in the body. Making a HTTP call should return the redirected URL, if not, you will have do it via code to get the new URL. Hope that made sense.

1 Like

Hi @Elgregy,

Another option is to add a JavaScript code snippet, then press “ASK AI” and ask it to perform the following task. It works great for such tasks. Let me know if it works.

Thank you,
Mo.

1 Like

Hello Menacestudio,

thank you very much for your support, I really appreciate it.
So, following your instruction, I have tried a simple get HTTP request on the redirected link and the body doesn’t seem to have a direct link toward the article that the google news link redirect to. I have put a screenshot of the answer below.

I guess I have to try the Code module from Activepiece to extract the final URL. I will test what Abuaboud have told me but right now it is grayed out I will set it up shortly and be back to you guys.

Thank you again a lot for the help :innocent:

Hello Abuaboud,

thank you for the suggestion. I have tried to modify the .env file on the root of activepiece to add my OpenAI API but my " ASK AI " button seems still greyed out.